Training Overview

Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan

Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan is a complete martial art including the use of strikes, kicks, grips and throws. It is a development of Shaolin Kung Fu and is often described as poetry in motion. Tai Chi has become very popular and is often seen practised in parks as a graceful dance like art which is very beautiful to watch.

In Shaolin Wahnam we practice Tai Chi Chuan as a complete internal martial art which it was originally developed to be. All our training is a unity of form, internal force and meditation and applicable in combat and in daily life.

Grandmaster Wong Kiew Kit has direct linage back to the Shaolin Temple and from his years of experience in the Shaolin Arts and his study of classical texts, has reignited Tai Chi Chuan to its original state by teaching it as a complete martial art integrating kung fu form, energy training of chi kung and spiritual training of meditation into one. We in Shaolin Wahnam are very lucky to practice Tai Chi Chuan like this and the benefits are wonderful.

The Ten Shaolin Laws

As a requirement to train Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan all students must agree to follow the Ten Shaolin Laws as best they can. The Ten Shaolin Laws are good guidelines to live a rewarding and meaningful life:

  • Required to respect the master, honour the Moral Way and love fellow disciples as brothers and sisters.
  • Required to train the Shaolin arts diligently, and as a pre-requisite, to be physically and mentally healthy.
  • Required to be filial to parents, be respectful to the elderly, and protective of the young.
  • Required to uphold righteousness, and to be both wise and courageous.
  • Forbidden to be ungrateful and unscrupulous, ignoring the Laws of man and heaven.
  • Forbidden to rape, molest, do evil, steal, rob, abduct or cheat.
  • Forbidden to associate with wicked people; forbidden to do any sorts of wickedness.
  • Forbidden to abuse power, be it official or physical; forbidden to oppress the good and bully the kind.
  • Obliged to be humane, compassionate and spread love, and to realize everlasting peace and happiness for all people.
  • Obliged to be chivalrous and generous, to nurture talents and pass on the Shaolin arts to deserving disciples.

Wahnam Tai Chi Chuan Training

Level 1: Fundamentals of Taijiquan

Form: Stances. fundamental footwork and basic Taijiquan forms.
Application: Taijiquan techniques to overcome simple combat situations.
Force: Wuji Stance, Lifting Water, Three-Circle Stance, and Grasping Sparrow’s Tail, Leg Stretching
Philosophy: Dimensions, aims and brief history.

Level 2: Basic Taijiquan Set

Form: “Cloud Hands”
Application: Pushing Hands and simple combat application.
Force: Induced energy flow.
Philosophy: Taijiquan for health and for combat.


  • Unity of form, energy and mind.
  • The principle of yin-yang.

Level 3: Techniques of Pushing Hands

Form: “White Snake Shoots Venom”.
Application: Pushing Hands and Combat Application.
Force: Flow of movement, Sensing ability, Using the opponent’s strength.
Philosophy: Principles of internal force training.


  • Techniques from “White Snake Shoots Venom”.
  • Pushing from front, left, right and back.
  • Importance of good stances.
  • Movement from the waist.
  • Four tahils against thousand katis.
  • Flowing with the opponent to overcome him..

Level 4: Tactics of Pushing Hands

Form: “Green Dragon Shoots Pearl”.
Application: Combat application from “Green Dragon”.
Force: Flowing with the opponent.
Philosophy: Difference between techniques and tactics


  • Reactive and proactive advantages.
  • Tactic of continuous attacks.
  • Tactic of confusing moves.
  • Tactic of instantaneous counter.
  • Tactic of interuption.

Level 5: Da Shou or Striking Hands

Form: “Black Bear Sinks Hips”.
Application: Combat application from “Black Bear”.
Force: Breath co-ordination and energy flow.
Philosophy: Principles of attack and defence.


  • Four categories of attacks.
  • The principle of safety first.
  • Soft against hard, and vice versa.
  • Circular against straight, and vice versa.
  • Starting later but arriving earlier.

Level 6: Cultivation for Health, Combat and Spiritual Development

Form: “Carry Tiger Back to Mountain”.
Application: Combat application of “Carry Tiger”.
Force: Abdominal Breathing.
Philosophy: Use of Strategies.


  • Strategies based on “Know Thyself, Know your Opponent”.

Level 7: Flowing Water Floating Clouds

Form: Flowing Water Floating Clouds Set.
Application: Combat application of Flowing Water.
Force: Solo performance as well as sparring with picture-perfect form, force and speed but without panting.
Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.


  • This set, which is probably closer in spirit and form to the original Taijiquan practiced by past masters like Zhang San Feng and Chen Wang Ting than many Taijiquan sets practiced today, enables us to attain good health, combat efficiency and spiritual fulfillment.

Level 8: Wudang Sword

Form: Wudang sword set.
Application: Combat application of Wudang sword.
Force: Channelling energy to the tip of a sword.
Philosophy: Principles of weapon combat.


  • Safety, certainty and decisiveness.
  • Avoiding strength and attacking weakness.

Level 9: Taijiquan Sabre

Form: Taijiquan Sabre set.
Application: Application of Taijiquan Sabre.
Force: Accuracy and power of chosen weapon.
Philosophy: Characteristics of major weapons.


  • Major weapons — staff, sabre, spear, sword, dagger, Big Knife, trident, soft whip.

Level 10: Unarmed against Armed

Form: Empty Hands Enter White Blade.
Application: Unarmed against dagger, staff and knife.
Force: Countering feign moves.
Philosophy: The principles and practice of Apparent and Real.


  • “Over Bridge, Flow with Water”.

Level 11: Single Unarmed against Multiple Unarmed

Form: Tiger Enters Herd of Sheep.
Application: Single unarmed against multiple unarmed.
Force: “Bamboo Man” or “Through the Woods”.
Philosophy: “Back-wall battle” and “Dodge-hit battle”.


  • Agility, stamina and endurance.

Level 12: Single Unarmed and Armed against Multiple Armed

Form: Dodge Hit.
Application: Single unarmed and armed against multiple armed.
Force: Dodging skills and using enemy as shields.
Philosophy: “Catch the Leader First” and “Break Through the Weakest”.